Independent Regulator

For Tasmania's legal profession —› read more

Meet the Board

Mr Keyran Pitt QC

Formally Mr Pitt QC has held appointments as Chairman of the Resource Management and Planning Appeal Tribunal; the Planning Appeals Board; the Mental Health Review Tribunal; and the Medical Complaints Tribunal.

He was also the Deputy Chairman for the Building Appeals Board and Environmental Protection Appeal Board, and, is an Honorary Fellow of the Royal Planning Institute of Australia.

Mr Pitt QC is the former President of the Bar Association of Tasmania and Medico-Legal Society of Tasmania.  He actively supported the legal profession in Tasmania as a former Council Member of the Law Society of Tasmania and Bar Association of Tasmania.

Mr Pitt QC currently works as a Barrister and an Arbitrator and is also the Chairman of the Forest Practices Tribunal.

Mr Anthony Mihal

Mr Mihal is a director of a generalist law practice in Ulverstone and he undertakes mainly litigious work including civil, criminal and child protection.  He served on the Council of the Law Society of Tasmania for 7 years including as President in 2013/2014, the Law Foundation of Tasmania, the Management Committee of the North West Community Legal Centre including as Chair the Law Council of Australia’s Regional, Remote, Rural Lawyers’ Advisory Committee.  He is currently a member of the Local Government Code of Conduct Panel, which  investigates and hears code of conduct complaints against councillors and the Chairman of a charitable organisation called the Roland View Estate Trust.


Mr David Lewis

Mr Lewis, a prominent barrister on the North West Coast of Tasmania with in excess of 25 years’ experience, was appointed to the Board on 27 June 2016. He has served on a number of Professional Boards and Committees over the years including his time as a member of the Bar Council of Tasmania. Mr Lewis has enjoyed a diverse practice in law which, in addition to his experience at the Queensland and Tasmanian Bars, includes appointment as a senior Crown Prosecutor in Darwin, Managing Practitioner of the Katherine Regional Aboriginal Legal Aid Service and Legislative Counsel for the external Australian Territory of Norfolk Island.


Mr Graeme Jones

Mr Jones completed a Bachelor of Laws degree at the University of Tasmania in 1977 and was admitted as a practitioner of the Supreme Court of Tasmania in 1980.

He is an active member of the legal profession and the community.  His current and previous activities are as follows:

  • Legal Assistance Committee member (1983-1990)
  • Bar Association Committee member (1981-1992)
  • Member of the Board of Legal Education (2004-2008)
  • Council member of the Law Society of Tasmania (2006-2013)
  • President of the Law Society of Tasmania (2009-2010)
  • Chairman Law Foundation of Tasmania (2009-2010)
  • Board member of the Centre of Legal Studies (2008-current)
  • Member of the Legal Profession Board of Tasmania (2015-current)
  • Board member of Eskleigh Foundation Inc. (2005-2009)
  • Board member of Wildcare Inc. (2009-2013)

He is a senior partner of a prominent Launceston law practice and is an experienced legal practitioner having practiced as both a barrister and solicitor for other thirty-five years.



Ms Judith Paxton JP

Ms Paxton was the Tasmanian Legal Ombudsman from 1994 until 2008, the State Director of the Commonwealth Merit Protection and Review Agency and the Chairperson of a number of tribunals responsible for determining disputes and grievances.






Mr Peter Dane

Mr Dane has worked across the telecommunications and energy sector in excess of 22 years including as a Business Analyst at Hydro Tasmania in 1995 and management positions at White Pages, TasTel and Aurora Energy. Apart from his time at TasTel, Mr Dane has been responsible for Marketing, Pricing and Retail Regulation in the energy sector in Tasmania.
He has served on a number of Boards and Associations, is a foundation member of the Australian Direct Marketing Association and a graduate member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. Mr Dane has a key focus on community involvement currently working part time as a coordinator for people moving into Independent Living Units in Aged Care and volunteering for organizations such as Royal Guide Dogs Tasmania, Community Transport and the Lenah Valley RSL.